Methodology
How We Rate Slot Casinos for Players in Canada Outside Ontario
Every casino in our ranking gets one overall score out of 10. This page explains the six criteria behind it, where each figure comes from and what we cannot see from outside a casino.

Criteria
The six criteria we rate slot casinos on
Each criterion answers one question a slot player would ask before depositing. Here is what we look at under each one, and what makes a casino score well or badly.
1. Slot selection
Is there enough worth playing?
Counts mostWe look past the headline game count to the mix behind it.
The groups we count
- Modern video slots
- Megaways and cluster games
- Progressive and fixed jackpots
- Bonus-buy titles
- Classic three-reel games
Scores well when each of those groups is well stocked and the lobby lets you filter by studio and feature.
Scores badly when thousands of games turn out to be near-copies from a few suppliers.
2. Studios
Who supplies the games?
Counts mostThe studio list predicts how a lobby will feel after the first week.
What we want to see
- Large catalogue studios, for breadth
- Mechanic specialists such as the Megaways and cluster-pay studios, for variety
- At least one jackpot network
Scores well when all three kinds of supplier are in the lobby.
Loses points when the lobby is built on one or two suppliers, even if its game count is high.
3. RTP transparency
Can you see what a game pays back?
Counts nextMany slots exist in several RTP versions, so the useful question is whether a casino tells you which one it runs.
Gets credit when the casino shows the figure in each game's info panel.
Counts against it when we cannot find the figure at all. We do not assume the best version.
4. Jackpots
What kind, and on what terms?
Counts nextWe note which kind of jackpot a casino carries, and whether its terms treat a jackpot win differently from an ordinary one.
The kinds we record
- Network progressives
- The casino's own local jackpots
- Only fixed-prize games
In the terms we look for rules that apply only to a jackpot win, for example withdrawal limits or payment in instalments.
5. Withdrawals
How quickly does money come back?
Sets the floorWe compare stated payout times, which methods can receive a withdrawal, whether Interac works in both directions, and what the casino says about verification before the first cash-out.
Costs the most when the payout policy is long or vague. That costs more points than a short game list.
6. Terms and licence
What is in the small print?
Sets the floorThis covers the clauses that affect slot players most.
Clauses we read
- Maximum bet while a bonus is active
- Excluded slots
- Caps on free-spin winnings
- Bonus expiry
Also covered: the licence that applies to players outside Ontario and the responsible gambling tools on offer.
The score
How the six criteria become one score
The six criteria are not weighted equally. Slot selection and studios count for the most, because they decide what you can actually play. RTP transparency and jackpots come next. Withdrawals and terms act more like a floor.
Slot selection and Studios
They decide what you can actually play.
RTP transparency and Jackpots
Withdrawals and Terms and licence
A casino with a great library still drops down the ranking if it pays slowly or buries restrictive clauses in its bonus terms.
The result is one overall score out of 10 per casino. We do not publish a sub-score for each criterion, because several inputs, such as which RTP version a casino runs or how its review team handles a first withdrawal, cannot be measured the same way for every casino from the outside.
A precise-looking breakdown built on uneven inputs would suggest an accuracy we do not have.
Sorting the ranking by slot selection or payout speed changes the order you see, never the score. A casino that does not state a figure is placed after those that do, instead of being given a guessed value. Try it below.
Re-sort the ranking: the score stays put
| Order | Casino | Score | Games listed | Stated payout |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Casino Days | 9.4 / 10 | 6,500 | Up to 24 h |
| 2 | JackpotCity | 9.0 / 10 | 500 | 24–48 h |
| 3 | Tooniebet | 8.7 / 10 | 3,000 | 24–48 h |
| 4 | Tonybet | 8.5 / 10 | Not stated | 24–72 h |
| 5 | Royal Vegas | 8.3 / 10 | 700 | 24–48 h |
| 6 | Spin Casino | 8.2 / 10 | 600 | 24–48 h |
Sources
Where every figure comes from
Each figure on this site has a source and a date. When a casino changes its terms, the date tells you how old our copy is.
| Entry | Figure | Source | Collected |
|---|---|---|---|
| A | Welcome offers, minimum deposits, game counts, payout times | Each casino's own published terms | April 2026 and October 2026 |
| B | Licences covering players outside Ontario | Kahnawake Gaming Commission register of permit holders for five casinos; the casino's own statement for one | October 2026 |
| C | Slot demos, studio game counts, listed RTP | SlotsLaunch demo catalogue feed | October 2026 |
How a missing figure looks. Tonybet does not publish a game count, so the cell in the ranking reads "Not stated" instead of an estimate, and sorting by slot selection places it after the casinos that state one.
Figures a casino does not publish stay marked "Not stated". The details panel under each casino in the ranking repeats its sources, so you can see which figure came from where without leaving the table.
Licences
How licences are checked
Outside Ontario, privately run casinos that accept Canadian players hold a licence from a regulator outside the provincial system, most often the Kahnawake Gaming Commission. A licence only means something if you can confirm it with the regulator itself, so every casino goes through the same three steps.
Step 1: Find the licensing body
We look for it in the casino's terms and footer.
Step 2: Search the public register
A licence only means something if the regulator itself confirms it.
Step 3: Match it, or say so
A match is marked as checked. Without one, we show the licence the casino states and label it that way.
Result for each casino in the ranking
Five of the six casinos in the ranking appear on the Kahnawake Gaming Commission's register of permit holders, checked in October 2026. For the other one, the licence shown is the one the casino states, and the ranking says so.
| Casino | Licence | How it was confirmed |
|---|---|---|
| Casino Days | Kahnawake Gaming Commission | On the regulator's register, October 2026 |
| JackpotCity | Kahnawake Gaming Commission | On the regulator's register, October 2026 |
| Tooniebet | Tobique Gaming Commission | The casino's own statement |
| Tonybet | Kahnawake Gaming Commission | On the regulator's register, October 2026 |
| Royal Vegas | Kahnawake Gaming Commission | On the regulator's register, October 2026 |
| Spin Casino | Kahnawake Gaming Commission | On the regulator's register, October 2026 |
You can run the same check yourself: the regulator's website lists its permit holders, and a casino that cannot be matched to one is a warning sign.
Limits
What a comparison cannot tell you
Only visible once you have an account
- How quickly support answers on a Saturday
- Whether a particular slot runs its higher RTP version that week
- How a casino handles a large win
Some things only show once you have an account. We describe what each casino publishes and what can be checked from outside; we do not promise how your own account will be treated.
That is why each listing shows its sources and dates, and why we would rather mark a figure "Not stated" than fill the gap. If something you see at a casino does not match this site, write to [email protected] and we will check it.
More about who runs the site and how it is funded is on the about page.
FAQ
Questions about the ranking
How the score is kept independent, updated and corrected.
Do casinos pay to be ranked higher?
No. Some links on this site are affiliate links, and a casino may pay us a commission if you sign up through one. That does not buy a position, and casinos without a licence covering players outside Ontario are not listed at all.
Why is there no score breakdown per criterion?
Because some of the inputs, such as RTP versions and withdrawal handling, cannot be measured the same way for every casino from the outside. We show the figures we can source and the date they were collected, and keep one overall score.
How often is the ranking updated?
The date at the top of each page shows the last update. Offers and payout times change often, so the casino's own terms are always the final word.
Why are some figures marked "Not stated"?
When a casino does not publish a figure, we leave it blank instead of estimating one. Sorting places those casinos after the ones that do state it.
Can I report a wrong figure?
Yes. Write to [email protected] with the page and the figure, and we will check it against the casino's current terms.
Keep reading
Other guides on SlotCasinos.ca
- Free slotsHow slot demos work, which kinds to try first, what a demo can teach you and what carries over when you switch to real money.
- Real money slotsHow online slots for real money work, how to pick one by volatility and RTP, and where Canadian players outside Ontario can play them.
- Interac casinosInterac e-Transfer deposits and withdrawals step by step, how to read a stated payout time, and the alternatives when Interac only works one way.
- Jackpot slotsProgressive jackpots, Megaways reels and high-RTP slots explained, the best-known jackpot games and the rules that apply when a big prize lands.